DC SHOPS

News and Information about shops in the metro DC area

“Old” Old Town Shops Still Thrive

Charming little off-the-beaten path store in Old Town

I visited Old Town for the first time in a year or so a couple of weeks ago and was very happy to find many of the independent stores that I have always loved are alive and well. Open since 1975, near the river at 6 Prince Street, Olde Towne Gemstones still offers the crystals, minerals, and fossil specimens that have made it a unique shop in the area. But I bought a lovely pair of earrings that the owner designed himself (under $40). I admit that I love this store because I interviewed two members of the Young family owners–father and son–a few years ago and they regaled me with stories of fossil hunting near Calvert Cliffs in Maryland. Next to Big Wheel Bikes near the river, I recommend a visit to this store.

Serving the community since 1988, Imagine Artwear , 1124 King Street, has beautiful art-to-wear clothing, jewelry, and accessories made exclusively by American artists. Imagine is a gallery dedicated to displaying the talents of weavers, painters, surface designers, jewelers, potters, glass artists, and furniture makers.

Across the street, at 1117 King Street, Arts Afire Gallery is another great shop featuring American-made goods. Featuring the works for more than 400 artists, the gallery features glass beads and jewelry, art glass, kaleidoscopes, ceramics, and turned wood. Visit the store’s blog for more information.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment